Trickery

Today, I made a mistake.

I was performing a spread for myself that I call a “Crossroads Spread.” This spread focuses on achieving goals. The two columns represent internal and external paths. From bottom to top, the positions are goal, challenge, and outcome. The middle cards are strength and weakness. In this spread you analyze the different paths open to you based on your goals, strengths and weaknesses.

However, something went wrong. I asked the tarot: “Tell me about my career path.” and arrived at this result…

The Crossroads - MistakeWhat the hell!? This result made no sense at all to me. It didn’t answer my question at all. And my eye kept being drawn to The Devil. I have never seen this card in my own spread before. I’ve seen all the others, but not this one. In addition it was the only Major Arcana.

Hoping to find more context, I examined the other cards. They didn’t make much sense either. I mean the Ten of Swords as my external goal. No way, Jose.

I decided to examine the spread later. I took the cards to the scanner and opened the lid… Several cards from a different reading were still sitting on the scanner bed! I had been working with an incomplete deck. No wonder the Tarot warned me to expect trickery.

The lesson to take away from this is that the Tarot always has something to tell you even when the reading is nonsensical. The key is to look elsewhere for the answer. 😀

2 thoughts on “Trickery

  1. Reminds me of the time I attempted the Opening of the Key with several duplicates hiding away in my deck. Did I mention it was my first reading? Yeah, fun times.

    No wonder that first operation was DOMINATED by the Cups suit before I had found out there were doubles…I found it very odd at the time but now it makes sense.

    • I definitely believe in corrupted readings. If at first glance I’m distracted or get a bad vibe then it’s a sign that there’s a problem. At that point I just lay off the readings until a later time.

      It’s like that feeling when you read through an entire page and realize that you didn’t remember any of it. Those are corrupted readings because my mind just wasn’t in the zone.

      Other times there is a physical problem with the deck like with this spread. Then it looks like gobbledegook. Especially because my cards have a direct personality. If a reading is too obscure then I always examine the deck itself. I usually find that I left a card in the bag or something along those lines.

Leave a Reply

