Heaven and Hell

Tonight, there’s a big frat party being held on campus: Heaven and Hell. First of all, I’ll just say that frat parties aren’t really my thing; I don’t drink with the exception of a cocktail now and then at a classy restaurant. As you can imagine, a party devoted to drunkenness and hooking-up just doesn’t hold much appeal for me. However, I was a little bored on the romantic front. (My personality tends toward the angelic, but part of me is vain and eager for attention.) Thus I had a dilemma on my hands. Endure the debauchery and enjoy the attention, or forgo the party entirely.

So I asked the cards, “Should I attend the party?

2:21:14

The High Priestess and the Magician appear together, facing each other too! They are a complementary pair: yin and yang, dark and light, night and day, female and male.

On the one hand, the union of these two cards suggests confidence and readiness, a theme continued in the Two of Wands. On the other hand, the cards could suggest a far more literal union of male and female. I draw another card for clarification.

Nine of Hearts – Fulfillment

#9 Nine of HeartsThe Nine of Hearts… Well, that settled it. I decided not to go to this party. In the entire deck, this card is the most suggestive of sexual relationships. Waayy too adventurous for me at the moment. With two separate parts of the spread hinting at sex, I figured this is a path best left untrod. I’m not exactly in the market for a fling, especially not in a relationship formed at a frat party.

Notice that the cards didn’t tell me anything in terms of good and bad. They only suggested a possible outcome and allowed me to determine my future for myself. In my heart, I didn’t really want to attend. Instead I will go to a more traditional social event, a dance.

Leave a Reply

